# **JULY 27, 2016**

The Freedom Area School Board held a Special Board Meeting on July 27, 2016, in the Middle School Library. President Jennifer Sayre called the meeting to order at 8:10 pm, following an executive session.

#### **Board Members Present:**

**Board Members Absent:** 

Alan Colorito
Harry Gilarno
Dawn Greene
Gerald Inman
Julie Leindecker
Lori Pail
Mary Ann Petcovic
Lorraine Rocco (Via Telephone)
Jennifer Sayre

## **School Staff Present:**

**Solicitor:** 

Dr. Jeffrey Fuller, Superintendent

N/A

**GUESTS:** Public sign-in sheet is attached to the minutes in the minute book.

**NOTES:** AN EXECUTIVE SESSION WAS HELD PRIOR TO THE START OF TONIGHT'S SPECIAL BOARD MEETING TO DISCUSS PERSONNEL MATTERS

### **PUBLIC/COMMUNITY RELATIONS:**

President Sayre reviewed Board Policy 903: Public Participation in Board Meetings, saying members of the public must preface their comments with their name, address, and group affiliation (if appropriate). All comments should be addressed to the Presiding Officer, be relevant to business that is before the Board and observe required timelines (Prior Formal Request – 10 Minutes, Informal Request – 5 Minutes). Comments should not be personally directed, abusive, or obscene.

NOTE: No Community Members addressed the Board.

### **EDUCATION:**

Motion by Gilarno, seconded by Petcovic, to accept the Resignation of Frank Hernandez, Middle School Principal, effective August 4, 2016 and completion of his exit preparation responsibilities.

Roll Call Yea Votes – Greene, Rocco, Pail, Sayre, Inman, Gilarno, Petcovic, Leindecker, Vote and Colorito. Motion carried – 9 Yeas

Motion by Greene, seconded by Gilarno, to appoint Ryan Smith, Assistant High School Principal, as interim Middle School Principal. Stipend of \$1,000 per month in addition to regular salary.

Roll Call Yea Votes – Greene, Rocco, Pail, Sayre, Inman, Gilarno, Petcovic, Leindecker,

Vote and Colorito. Motion carried – 9 Yeas

Adjourn Motion by Gilarno, seconded by Petcovic, to adjourn. All members voting Yea.

9 Yeas. Adjourned at 8:15 pm, EST.

Submitted by:			

Lorraine Rocco, Board Secretary